The best AI chatbot subscription in November 2026 depends less on brand loyalty and more on which plan unlocks the newest model. OpenAI now sells three Pro tiers at $100, $200 and $500 a month, according to its ChatGPT pricing page, and only the top one adds the Ultrafast versions of GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol.
Four families matter right now: ChatGPT with GPT-6, Claude with the 5.5 line, Gemini with Gemini 4 Argon, and Grok with Grok 4.7. Each vendor gates its strongest model differently. This article maps that gating plan by plan, then attaches prices to it. For a pure price rundown, the separate subscription pricing breakdown covers the monthly fees side by side.
Every price and model name below comes from vendor pages fetched on November 2, 2026. Where listings disagreed, as with Google AI Ultra’s monthly price, we say so instead of picking a number. Where a vendor has not documented something, such as which consumer plan unlocks Grok 4.7, we flag the gap.
Best AI Chatbot Subscription: Quick Verdict by Plan
Start with the short answer, because the details get dense. The cheapest clearly documented door to the newest ChatGPT generation is Plus, which OpenAI’s help center lists at $20 a month. For Claude’s flagship, Opus 5.5, Anthropic’s pages describe availability across paid consumer and business plans, including Team and Enterprise, so check your plan’s model list before paying. Google names AI Pro and AI Ultra as the plans that unlock Gemini 4 Argon in the Gemini app. xAI documents Grok 4.7 for developers and leaves the consumer mapping vague.
- Best all-round entry plan: ChatGPT Plus. It gets you GPT-6 reasoning, memory, projects, scheduled tasks and expanded Codex usage in one subscription.
- Best for heavy coding with API spillover: Claude Max at $100 or Ultra at $200, because each bundles monthly Claude Platform API credits ($100 and $200 respectively).
- Best for Google users: Google AI Pro or Ultra, since Argon sits inside the Gemini app and AI Mode in Search, and the plans carry large storage bundles.
- Best for developers who want cheap tokens: Grok 4.7 through the xAI API at $2 input and $6 output per million tokens, or Claude Haiku 5.5 at $0.10 and $0.50.
- Best for money no object: ChatGPT Pro 500 at $500 a month, the only tier with Ultrafast access to GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol.
The takeaway: for most people the best AI chatbot subscription is a $20 plan, and the real decision is whether you ever hit its limits. Spending $100 or more only makes sense when a usage cap is costing you work.
The Current Lineup on November 2, 2026
Model names moved fast this autumn, so a snapshot helps. OpenAI began rolling out GPT-6 in ChatGPT on October 7, 2026, alongside a feature it calls Intelligent UI, which can generate interactive elements such as comparisons, diagrams, calculators and games inside a chat. OpenAI’s own pages still mix GPT-6 and GPT-5.6 names mid-rollout, and one help page states that the GPT-6 rollout does not retire older selectable models. Treat any single screenshot of the model picker as provisional.
Anthropic’s current family is Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 5.5 and Claude Haiku 5.5, with Haiku 5.5 landing on October 7 and completing the set. Google launched Gemini 4 Argon on October 13 and announced a stronger sibling, Gemini 4 Carbon, on October 28. Carbon is not a public chatbot model. Google says it starts with selected cyber defenders and trusted partners. xAI lists Grok 4.7 as its newest general model, with Grok 4.6 as the predecessor.
For a ranking of how these models score against each other, the LLM leaderboard comparison tracks the numbers. This article stays on access and cost. The table below lines up the lineup across 12 attributes.
| Attribute | ChatGPT (OpenAI) | Claude (Anthropic) | Gemini (Google) | Grok (xAI) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Newest general model | GPT-6 (rolling out) | Claude Opus 5.5 | Gemini 4 Argon | Grok 4.7 |
| Newest-model timing | GPT-6 in ChatGPT from Oct 7, 2026 | 5.5 family complete with Haiku 5.5 on Oct 7 | Argon launched Oct 13, 2026 | Predecessor Grok 4.6 replaced by 4.7 |
| Cheaper or faster sibling | GPT-6 Luna | Sonnet 5.5 and Haiku 5.5 | Flash-class models (versions vary by page) | Grok 4.7 Fast (Cursor and Grok Build only) |
| Top reasoning option in the chatbot | GPT-6 Pro (powered by GPT-6 Astra) | Opus 5.5 | Argon | Grok 4.7 with xhigh reasoning effort (API) |
| Restricted or specialist model | GPT-6.1 Terra and GPT-6.1 Sol in Work and Codex | Fable (Max and Ultra, up to half the weekly limit) | Gemini 4 Carbon (selected cyber defenders) | None documented |
| Lowest tier with the newest model | Plus (GPT-6 Sol) | Team and Enterprise confirmed for Opus 5.5 | Google AI Pro | Not documented for consumers |
| Top tier named | Pro 500 | Ultra | Google AI Ultra | Top X Subscription tier (reported) |
| Highest verified monthly price | $500 (Pro 500) | $200 (Ultra) | Listings disagree | Not officially confirmed |
| Bundled API credits | Reported, not confirmed by OpenAI | $100 (Max), $200 (Ultra), up to $500 pooled (Team) | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| Coding or agent surface | Codex and ChatGPT Work | Claude Platform and Cowork (Enterprise) | Google Antigravity (Ultra only) | Grok Build and Cursor |
| Documented context window | Not stated in sources checked | Not stated in sources checked | Not stated in sources checked | 500,000 tokens (Grok 4.7) |
| Flagship API price per 1M tokens (in / out) | See pricing section | $4 / $20 (Opus 5.5) | $2 / $10 until Nov 30, then $4 / $20 | $2 / $6 (prompts under 200K tokens) |
| Discount programs | Up to 75% off Business or Enterprise for nonprofits | 40% off for government partners via GSA | None confirmed | None confirmed |
Two rows deserve attention. First, the “lowest tier with the newest model” row shows how different the gating strategies are. OpenAI lets a $20 plan touch GPT-6, while Google ties Argon to its two upper plans. Second, the context window row is mostly blank because the pages we checked did not state it, and we would rather leave a cell empty than fill it from memory.
ChatGPT: What Each Tier Unlocks Under GPT-6
OpenAI runs the most layered ladder of the four. It has Free, Go, Plus, three Pro tiers, plus Business, Enterprise and Edu workspaces. The model you actually get depends on the rung, and on a few settings that workspace administrators control.
Free and Go: GPT-6 Luna
Free and Go run GPT-6 Luna, the lighter member of the GPT-6 family. OpenAI’s pricing page says Free users get GPT-6 text chat, but some variants, including GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6 Sol, are not available on that tier. Go is a paid monthly plan between Free and Plus. OpenAI’s pages we checked did not show a clear US price for Go, so we leave it unquoted.
Plus: the cheapest door to GPT-6 Sol
Plus is the lowest clearly documented paid tier with GPT-6 access. OpenAI’s help center lists it at $20 a month. It uses GPT-6 Sol, and its feature list covers advanced reasoning, expanded messages and uploads, image creation, deep research, memory, projects, scheduled tasks, custom GPTs, expanded Codex usage and expanded ChatGPT Work access. The official model matrix shows Plus with access to GPT-6.1 Sol, while Free and Go show none.
What Plus does not include is the Pro model. GPT-6 Pro, powered by GPT-6 Astra, sits on Pro, Business and Enterprise. If your work needs the hardest reasoning, Plus will feel like a ceiling.
Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500
OpenAI documents three monthly Pro tiers: Pro 100 at $100, Pro 200 at $200 and Pro 500 at $500. Pro 500 arrived in late October. Pro 200 became available again to new subscribers around the same time, after a stretch when it was not open to them. All three include GPT-6 Pro. Pro 200 adds more usage than Pro 100 but not Ultrafast access. Pro 500 carries the highest included usage and the Ultrafast versions of GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol.
One more detail matters for budgeting. Secondary reports say OpenAI doubled Pro usage limits on November 1 after reversing a planned reduction, and that it added up to $500 in monthly API credits for eligible subscriptions. We could not confirm either on an official OpenAI page, so treat both as unverified.
Business and Enterprise
Workspace plans get GPT-6 Sol and, with permissions, GPT-6 Pro. The limits are tight. OpenAI’s Business documentation says the Standard seat includes 15 GPT-6 Pro messages per month, shared with GPT-5.6 Sol Pro. A team that leans on the Pro model will burn through that in days. OpenAI also lists Standard at $25 per user monthly or $20 per user on annual billing, though that price appeared in a single listing, so confirm it before you buy. Nonprofits can access up to a 75% discount on Business or Enterprise.
On October 26, OpenAI also introduced GPT-6.1 Terra, GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6 Luna for Work and Codex, with API identifiers such as gpt-6-sol and gpt-6-luna. GPT-6.1 Terra began rolling out in Work and Codex for Plus, Pro, Business, Enterprise and Edu users. Our separate look at Gemini 4 Carbon, Opus 5.5 and GPT-6.1 Terra compares those specialist models directly. For ordinary chat, the facts we found do not show a GPT-6.1 general model yet. GPT-6 remains the chat generation.
Claude: Opus 5.5, Max, Ultra and the API-Credit Twist
Anthropic’s ladder is shorter and, as of November 1, freshly renamed. The old Max 5x plan is now just Max at $100 a month. The old Max 20x plan is now Ultra at $200 a month. Prices did not change. What changed is the naming, plus a fresh perk: verified Ultra accounts no longer face a five-hour usage limit.
Anthropic’s pricing page lists the entry paid plan at $20 a month when billed monthly, or $200 billed up front on an annual subscription. Reporting on the November 1 change says Max provides five times Pro usage with five-hour and weekly limits, while Ultra provides ten times Pro usage on a weekly basis. Both include the Fable model for up to half of the applicable weekly limit.
Why the API credits change the math
The unusual part is the credits. Max includes $100 a month in Claude Platform API credits and Ultra includes $200, with Team subscribers getting up to $500 pooled. In effect, a Max subscriber who also builds software gets the subscription fee back as API usage. Nobody else among the four vendors confirms a comparable bundle on an official page. For a developer who would pay for API tokens anyway, Max costs close to nothing net, which is a strong argument that the best AI chatbot subscription for builders is not the cheapest one.
Which model each plan runs
Here the public record is thin. Anthropic’s pages confirm that Team and Enterprise currently provide Opus 5.5. Anthropic says Opus 5.5 leads in agentic coding and knowledge work and costs 40% less to run than Opus 5 on typical workloads. Sonnet 5.5 runs more than 30% faster than Sonnet 5 and costs up to 30% less for most work. Haiku 5.5 is the fastest small model, and Anthropic says it costs about 75% less to run than Haiku 4.5.
Sonnet 5 became the default for Free and Pro users when it launched on June 30. Sonnet 5.5 is its successor, but we found no page that states each consumer plan’s current default. If Opus access on a consumer plan matters to your purchase, check the in-app model picker on a trial month before paying for a year. The head-to-head Claude Opus 5.5 versus Gemini 4 Argon piece digs into how those two flagships compare on price and capability.
Enterprise customers got another change on October 23, when Anthropic unified Claude Cowork and Claude chat. Government buyers have a separate lever. Anthropic expanded its General Services Administration agreement to give government partners a 40% discount on Claude Enterprise, Claude for Government and the Claude API.
Gemini: Argon on AI Pro and Ultra, Carbon Locked Away
Google’s gating is the cleanest to explain. According to Google’s Gemini 4 Argon announcement, the model became globally available on October 13 through the Gemini API, AI Studio, the Gemini app and AI Mode in Search, with access varying by product and subscription tier. Google AI Pro and Google AI Ultra subscribers get Argon in the Gemini app and AI Mode. Access through Google Antigravity is limited to Ultra.
Google’s consumer lineup carries three names: Google AI Plus, Google AI Pro and Google AI Ultra. One plan page for AI Plus also references Argon access, while the launch announcement names only Pro and Ultra, so verify the Plus entitlement in the app before you rely on it. The pages list 400 GB of storage for Plus, 5 TB for Pro and 20 TB for Ultra. They describe Ultra as offering five times the Gemini usage of Pro.
Prices are where the sources disagree. One listing shows Google AI Pro as a bundle at $19.99 a month. For Ultra, we saw both $99.99 and $59 a month in different listings. We are not going to guess. Check Google’s plan page on the day you buy, because regional pricing and promotional bundles also move these numbers.
The Carbon caveat
Gemini 4 Carbon was announced on October 28 and Google calls it its strongest model. It is not for sale to the public. Google says it starts with selected cyber defenders and expands gradually to trusted partners through the Fairwind Program. Google also states a planned public price equal to Argon’s introductory rate, but a planned price is not evidence that access has opened. If a reseller or an app claims to offer Carbon to everyone today, be skeptical.
Developers face a deadline. Argon API pricing is $2 per million input tokens and $10 per million output tokens through November 30, 2026, with cached input discounted by 95%. From December 1 it becomes $4 and $20. The piece on the Argon price doubling while Sonnet 5.5 holds works through what that does to a typical bill. Genie 4, announced October 27, is a separate DeepMind world-simulation research preview and not a chatbot model.
Grok 4.7: API-First, With a Murky Consumer Story
xAI documents Grok 4.7 well for developers and poorly for consumers. The company’s release notes list grok-4.7 as available through the API with a 500,000-token context window, text and image input, text output, and four reasoning-effort settings: low, medium, high and xhigh. xAI calls it its frontier model for coding, agentic tasks and knowledge work.
API pricing is $2 per million input tokens, $0.50 per million cached input tokens and $6 per million output tokens for prompts below 200,000 tokens. Higher rates apply above that threshold. Requests sent to the US regional endpoint are billed at 1.1 times the global rates. Grok 4.7 Fast is a separate variant available in Cursor and Grok Build, not on the public API, and billed through those products.
The consumer side is where the record gets thin. xAI’s official pages do not say which consumer plan unlocks every Grok 4.7 capability in the Grok app. A secondary report says xAI reorganized its offerings on October 12 under “The X Subscription,” bundling Grok, Grok Bot, Cursor and X Premium. The same report lists tiers reportedly priced at $8, $30, $100 and $200 a month, with legacy subscribers keeping older prices. That is a report, not an xAI price list.
Voice is one area where xAI has shipped a clear product. Grok Voice 3.0 is a speech-to-speech model in the API, and the ChatGPT Voice versus Grok Voice versus Gemini Live comparison covers how it stacks up against the rivals. For subscription shoppers, the practical advice is simple: buy Grok through a consumer plan only after confirming in the app which model it serves, and use the API if you need 4.7 for certain.
Pricing Compared: Subscriptions and API Tokens
With the access rules laid out, here are the prices. The first table lists only monthly figures that vendors state on their own pages. Cells marked as unconfirmed mean the pages we checked either omitted the number or contradicted each other.
| Plan | Monthly price | What it adds for newest-model access |
|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT Pro 100 | $100 | GPT-6 Pro (GPT-6 Astra), more usage than Plus |
| ChatGPT Pro 200 | $200 | More usage than Pro 100, no Ultrafast |
| ChatGPT Pro 500 | $500 | Highest usage, GPT-6 Astra Ultrafast and GPT-6.1 Sol Ultrafast |
| Claude entry paid plan | $20 billed monthly ($200 up front for a year) | Opus access not spelled out on the page |
| Claude Max | $100 | 5x Pro usage, $100 API credits, Fable up to half the weekly limit |
| Claude Ultra | $200 | 10x Pro weekly usage, $200 API credits, no five-hour limit for verified accounts |
| Google AI Plus, Pro, Ultra | Listings disagree or omit prices | Argon in the Gemini app on Pro and Ultra, Antigravity on Ultra only |
| Grok consumer tiers | Not officially confirmed | xAI does not state which plan unlocks Grok 4.7 |
The free tiers are a different question. If you only need casual answers, the free tier message caps comparison shows how far $0 goes before a paid plan earns its fee.
API token prices for the same models
| Model | Input per 1M tokens | Output per 1M tokens | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Opus 5.5 | $4 | $20 | Fast mode $8 / $40 |
| Claude Sonnet 5.5 | $2 | $10 | Cache reads $0.10 per 1M |
| Claude Haiku 5.5 | $0.10 | $0.50 | Prompts up to 100K tokens |
| Gemini 4 Argon (to Nov 30) | $2 | $10 | Cached input 95% off |
| Gemini 4 Argon (from Dec 1) | $4 | $20 | Announced step-up |
| Grok 4.7 | $2 | $6 | Prompts under 200K tokens, cached input $0.50 |
GPT-6 Sol is missing from this table on purpose. One listing puts it at $2 input, $0.20 cached input and $10 output, and says OpenAI cut API prices by 50% against GPT-5.6 promotional pricing. We saw that in only one place, so we call it reported rather than confirmed.
A worked example: 100M input and 20M output tokens a month
Prices only mean something against a workload. Take a small product team that sends 100 million input tokens and 20 million output tokens a month, ignoring caching. The arithmetic below uses the list prices from the table above.
| Model | Input cost | Output cost | Monthly total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Haiku 5.5 | $10 | $10 | $20 |
| Grok 4.7 | $200 | $120 | $320 |
| Claude Sonnet 5.5 | $200 | $200 | $400 |
| Gemini 4 Argon (to Nov 30) | $200 | $200 | $400 |
| Claude Opus 5.5 | $400 | $400 | $800 |
| Gemini 4 Argon (from Dec 1) | $400 | $400 | $800 |
The spread is 40x between Haiku 5.5 and Opus 5.5. Argon doubles on December 1, which puts it at Opus 5.5’s price for this workload. A Claude Ultra subscriber with $200 in monthly credits would cover half the Sonnet 5.5 bill before paying anything extra.
What the Benchmark Evidence Actually Shows
Readers expect a benchmark table here, so a plain statement first. We found no independent, head-to-head test of GPT-6, Opus 5.5, Argon and Grok 4.7 on a shared harness that we could verify against vendor pages. What exists is a set of vendor claims, a few customer evaluations, and aggregator leaderboards that change weekly. Publishing a clean ranking from that would be inventing precision.
What we can do is list the claims, name who made them, and say how much weight each deserves. The table pulls from four sources: Anthropic, Google, OpenAI and a customer evaluation hosted on xAI’s own page.
| Claim | Source | Type | How to read it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Opus 5.5 costs 40% less to run than Opus 5 on typical workloads | Anthropic | Vendor cost claim | Credible for cost planning, but “typical” is undefined |
| Sonnet 5.5 runs 30%+ faster and costs up to 30% less than Sonnet 5 | Anthropic | Vendor speed and cost claim | Compare against your own latency logs |
| Haiku 5.5 costs about 75% less to run than Haiku 4.5 | Anthropic | Vendor cost claim | Relevant to high-volume summarization and subagents |
| Gemini 4 Carbon scores 88.2% on SEC-bench Pro | Vendor benchmark | Carbon is restricted, so it says little about what you can buy | |
| Argon cached input is priced 95% below standard input | Vendor pricing | Matters for long, repeated prompts | |
| GPT-6.1 Sol positioned as near-Astra intelligence at lower API pricing | OpenAI | Vendor positioning | A marketing claim until tested independently |
| Grok 4.6 detected and refused dangerous biosecurity queries more reliably than other frontier systems | LatchBio evaluation shown on xAI’s site | Customer evaluation | Covers Grok 4.6, not 4.7, and a narrow task |
Notice the pattern. Most numbers describe cost and speed, not accuracy. The only accuracy-style score, Carbon’s SEC-bench Pro result, applies to a model you cannot subscribe to. The Grok evaluation tested the previous generation. That is the honest state of the evidence in early November, and it is why plan access and price are the more reliable axes for a purchase decision today.
A practical rule follows. Run your own ten prompts, drawn from the work you actually do, on the free or trial tier of each service before paying. Score them blind if a colleague can help. Fifteen minutes of that beats a week of reading leaderboards.
Who Actually Uses Each Chatbot: Pew Research Data
Adoption data frames how much the plan wars matter. The Pew Research Center’s June 2026 survey of Americans found that “44% of U.S. adults reported ever using ChatGPT, compared with 24% for Gemini, 8% for Grok, and 6% for Claude.” That is lifetime use, not paid subscriptions, but it shows where the audience sits.
Pew’s age breakdown tells a more interesting story. Among U.S. adults ages 18 to 29, Pew reported that “61% reported using ChatGPT, compared with 30% for Gemini, 10% for Claude, and 9% for Grok.” For adults ages 30 to 49, the figures were “55% reported using ChatGPT, compared with 34% for Gemini, 9% for Claude, and 10% for Grok.” Both quotes come from Pew Research Center’s June 2026 report on how opinions and use of AI differ by age. Teens skew the same way. In its December 2025 teen survey, Pew reported that “Among U.S. teens, 59% reported using ChatGPT, compared with 23% for Gemini.”
Two readings stand out. ChatGPT leads every age group Pew reported, yet Gemini climbs from 30% among the youngest adults to 34% among the 30 to 49 group, which suggests Google’s distribution through Android and Search is working on working-age users. Claude’s share is small across the board. A chatbot can be niche by headcount and still be the best fit for a specific job.
For a separate view of traffic and usage, see the usage share comparison. The lesson for subscribers is modest. Popularity tells you where community help, tutorials and integrations are plentiful. It does not tell you which plan fits your workload.
Six Real-World Scenarios With the Numbers
Abstract plan tables only go so far. These six scenarios use offers and prices that exist today, and they show how the choice changes with the buyer.
1. The solo developer on a $20 plan
A freelancer who codes with Codex a few hours a day gets expanded Codex usage on ChatGPT Plus, plus GPT-6.1 Sol access per OpenAI’s model matrix. The trigger to upgrade is hitting limits mid-task, not wanting a better model. Until that happens, the extra $80 for Pro 100 buys GPT-6 Pro, which most freelance work does not need.
2. The builder who also ships an API product
A developer who spends about $100 a month on Claude API tokens can take Max at $100 and receive $100 in Claude Platform credits. The subscription effectively pays for itself, and the chat product comes along for free. If API spend is closer to $200, Ultra mirrors the logic. This scenario only works for Claude among the four, since the others do not confirm similar credits.
3. The government agency
Anthropic’s expanded GSA agreement gives government partners a 40% discount on Claude Enterprise, Claude for Government and the Claude API. An agency budgeting $1 million for AI seats would see the list price drop by $400,000 on those products. Procurement teams should check the terms, which differ by government level.
4. The nonprofit
OpenAI says nonprofits can access up to a 75% discount on ChatGPT Business or Enterprise through its nonprofit program. For a ten-person charity, that can turn a team workspace from a luxury into a line item. Anthropic separately reported free Team access for up to a year for qualifying scientists, with Premium seats at $15 a month, though that offer targets research labs rather than general charities.
5. The high-volume startup
A support-automation startup pushing 100 million input tokens a month through summarization would pay about $10 on Haiku 5.5 for input, against $200 on Sonnet 5.5 or Grok 4.7. If quality holds up on a test set, Haiku 5.5 changes the economics. Anthropic positions Haiku 5.5 for exactly this kind of high-volume work, including summarization, subagents and browser use.
6. The ten-person team on ChatGPT Business
Standard seats include 15 GPT-6 Pro messages per month. If each of ten people sends 15 Pro messages, the team uses 150 Pro messages and then falls back to lighter models. A team that expects daily Pro-model use should price Enterprise or a few individual Pro seats instead. Seat mix matters more than headline seat price here.
Use-Case Recommendations: Which Plan for Which Job
Match the plan to the job, not the logo. These seven recommendations follow from the access rules and prices above. Where we offer an opinion on fit, it is our read of the documented features, not a measured result.
- Daily generalist work (email, research, drafts): ChatGPT Plus at $20. It is the lowest clearly documented tier with GPT-6, and it bundles memory, projects and deep research.
- Agentic coding at volume: Claude Max or Ultra. The API credits ($100 or $200 a month) offset the fee for anyone who also calls the API, and Anthropic positions Opus 5.5 for agentic coding.
- Long research sessions inside Google Workspace habits: Google AI Pro or Ultra. Argon lives in the Gemini app and AI Mode, and the storage bundles (5 TB on Pro, 20 TB on Ultra, per Google’s pages) matter if you already pay for Drive space.
- Maximum reasoning, cost secondary: ChatGPT Pro 500. Ultrafast access to GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol is the one thing no other plan sells, and only a specialist workload justifies $500.
- Cheapest per token at scale: Claude Haiku 5.5 through the API at $0.10 and $0.50, then Grok 4.7 at $2 and $6, with Gemini 4 Argon at $2 and $10 until November 30.
- Teams and regulated buyers: ChatGPT Business or Enterprise if you want the widest tooling, Claude Team or Enterprise if you want pooled API credits (up to $500) and the GSA discount for government work.
- Privacy-sensitive use: no flagship subscription is designed around privacy first. The private AI chatbot comparison covers apps built for that purpose.
If you are unsure, buy the $20 plan for one month, push it hard, and note exactly where it fails. Upgrade only if the failure is a usage cap or a missing model, and match the upgrade to that failure. A cap points to a higher tier of the same vendor. A missing capability points to a different vendor.
Migration Guide: Switching Chatbots Without Losing Your Work
Switching costs are real but manageable. The painful part is not the model. It is the accumulated context: saved instructions, project files, custom assistants and memory. Follow this sequence.
- Inventory what you use. List your projects, custom instructions, custom GPTs or equivalents, scheduled tasks and connected apps. Anything you cannot name, you will not miss.
- Export your data. Each service offers a data export in account settings. Google users can also pull Gemini activity through their account’s data download tools. Do this before you cancel, not after.
- Capture memory by hand. Ask the old assistant to summarize what it knows about your work, tone and preferences, then paste that summary into the new service’s custom instructions. The memory comparison for ChatGPT, Claude and Gemini shows how each handles stored context.
- Rebuild your top three workflows first. Do not recreate everything. Move the three you use weekly, test them, and let the rest go.
- Run the ten-prompt test. Send the same ten real prompts to the new service and compare answers with your old one. Judge usefulness, not style.
- Overlap billing for one month. Keep the old plan for 30 days. Cancel only when the new one has survived a full work cycle.
- Move API code last. Keep model names in configuration, not scattered through code, so a swap becomes a one-line change.
The API step is where config discipline pays off. A minimal pattern looks like this. The model identifiers gpt-6-sol, gpt-6-luna and grok-4.7 come from the vendors’ documentation. For Claude and Gemini, read the exact identifier from each vendor’s model page, since we did not verify those strings.
{
"default": "gpt-6-luna",
"reasoning": "gpt-6-sol",
"long_agent": "grok-4.7",
"claude_model": "READ_FROM_ANTHROPIC_MODEL_DOCS",
"gemini_model": "READ_FROM_GOOGLE_MODEL_DOCS"
}
Route by task, log cost per request, and review the log monthly. That habit catches the December 1 Argon price step before it reaches an invoice.
Pros and Cons by Vendor
ChatGPT
- Pros: GPT-6 reaches a $20 tier. The widest ladder, from Free to Pro 500. Intelligent UI adds interactive answers. Nonprofit discounts up to 75% on workspace plans.
- Cons: Model names overlap mid-rollout (GPT-6 next to GPT-5.6). Business Standard seats cap GPT-6 Pro at 15 messages a month. The Pro 500 price is steep. API credits remain unconfirmed.
Claude
- Pros: API credits bundled with Max and Ultra. Clear 5.5 family with a cheap Haiku option. A 40% GSA discount for government buyers. Ultra loses the five-hour limit for verified accounts.
- Cons: Plan lineups keep changing, which makes older reviews confusing. ChatGPT Pro now spans three tiers, Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500, and the top tier costs $500 a month, so extreme users pay a steep price.
Gemini
- Pros: Argon runs in the Gemini app and Search AI Mode. Big storage bundles. Argon API at $2 and $10 until November 30, with a 95% cached-input discount.
- Cons: Conflicting price listings, especially for Ultra. The API price doubles on December 1. Carbon is locked to selected cyber defenders. Antigravity requires Ultra.
Grok
- Pros: The cheapest flagship output price at $6 per million tokens. A 500,000-token context window. Four reasoning-effort levels.
- Cons: xAI does not document which consumer plan unlocks Grok 4.7. Consumer pricing rests on secondary reports. Grok 4.7 Fast is limited to Cursor and Grok Build.
Final Verdict: The Best AI Chatbot Subscription by Data
Here is the call, with the numbers behind it. For most readers, the best AI chatbot subscription is ChatGPT Plus at $20 a month. It is the only plan under $100 that official pages clearly tie to the newest model generation, and it bundles the broadest feature set. No other vendor gives a $20 buyer that much documented access to its current flagship family.
For builders, Claude Max at $100 wins on arithmetic. A $100 credit against a $100 fee turns the chat product into a free add-on for anyone with real API spend. Ultra at $200 repeats the trick at twice the scale. For Google households, AI Pro is the logical pick once you confirm its current price and Argon entitlement in the app. For raw token economics, Haiku 5.5 at $0.10 and $0.50 is the standout, and Grok 4.7 at $6 output is the cheapest flagship.
Skip Pro 500 unless you can name the workload that needs Ultrafast GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol. Skip any plan sold on the promise of Gemini 4 Carbon, which Google has not released to the public.
Dates to watch
- November 30: Argon’s $2 and $10 introductory API price ends.
- December 1: Argon moves to $4 input and $20 output.
- Ongoing: OpenAI’s GPT-6 rollout reaches more Free and Go accounts, and Carbon access widens through Google’s Fairwind Program on a schedule Google has not published.
Prices and entitlements in this space changed several times in October alone. Re-check the vendor pages on the day you buy, and follow new releases in the AI and machine learning section.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which ChatGPT plan gives access to GPT-6?
Free and Go run GPT-6 Luna. Plus is the lowest clearly documented paid tier with GPT-6 Sol, and OpenAI’s help center lists it at $20 a month. GPT-6 Pro, powered by GPT-6 Astra, sits on Pro 100, Pro 200, Pro 500, Business and Enterprise. The rollout is gradual, so not every account sees it on the same day.
Can I subscribe to Gemini 4 Carbon?
No. Google announced Carbon on October 28 and says it is initially available only to selected cyber defenders and trusted partners through the Fairwind Program. The consumer model is Gemini 4 Argon, available to Google AI Pro and Ultra subscribers.
Does Claude Max include API credits?
Yes. Anthropic’s pricing page lists $100 a month in Claude Platform API credits with Max and $200 with Ultra. Team subscribers get up to $500 per month in pooled credits.
What changed in Claude’s plans on November 1?
Max 5x became Max at $100 a month, and Max 20x became Ultra at $200 a month. Verified Ultra subscribers also lost the five-hour usage limit. Any review that still uses the old names predates the change.
What happens to Gemini 4 Argon API pricing on December 1?
Google’s introductory price of $2 per million input tokens and $10 per million output tokens runs through November 30, 2026. From December 1 the price becomes $4 and $20, so a fixed workload costs twice as much.
Do I need a consumer subscription to use Grok 4.7?
Not if you are a developer. Grok 4.7 is available through the xAI API as grok-4.7 at $2 input and $6 output per million tokens for prompts under 200,000 tokens. xAI has not documented which consumer plan unlocks it in the Grok app.
Is ChatGPT Pro 500 worth $500 a month?
Only for narrow workloads. Pro 500 adds the highest included usage and Ultrafast access to GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol. If you cannot name a task where speed or volume on those models saves you more than the $300 gap over Pro 200, the cheaper tiers serve you better.
What is the best AI chatbot subscription for a beginner?
Start free, then try a $20 plan for one month. Use the ten-prompt test from the benchmark section, note where the plan hits a limit, and upgrade only for that reason.