Skip to content

The Edge of the Cyber World See the latest

Apps

Lenovo G700 Launches at $330 as 5 Rivals Chase Cloud [2026]

Lenovo put a second cloud gaming handheld on shelves in China before the first one even reached stores. The Cloud Gaming Handheld G700 went official on August 26, 2026, just one day after Lenovo’s Legion C700 held its own launch event and one day after ASUS, Microsoft, and Logitech each made their own moves in the same corner of the market. Retail sales of the Legion C700 start September 8. The G700 carries a starting price of CNY 2,199, roughly $330, for an 8GB RAM and 256GB storage configuration. Neither device has a confirmed release date outside China.

The timing is not a coincidence. Over a span of roughly 30 days, five separate companies pushed cloud-first or cloud-optimized handhelds forward: Lenovo with two devices, ASUS with a Boosteroid streaming partnership and a standalone ROG Xbox Ally X20, Microsoft with a new “Handheld” platform tag inside Xbox Game Pass Premium, and Logitech with the opposite move, confirming it has no plans to build a second G Cloud. The cluster of announcements shows a market testing multiple bets at once: China-first Android streaming devices, premium Windows hybrids, and subscription services trying to make “handheld” a platform tag as fundamental as console or PC.

Lenovo’s G700 Specs and Price Break Down the Cloud Handheld Pitch

The Cloud Gaming Handheld G700 runs a 7.82-inch IPS LCD panel at Full HD resolution, 1920 by 1080, with a 120Hz refresh rate and peak brightness rated at 500 nits. Inside sits a MediaTek Dimensity 7400, an octa-core 4nm chipset paired with active cooling, according to GSMArena’s coverage of the launch. Lenovo offers the device in at least two memory tiers: 6GB RAM with 128GB of storage, and 8GB RAM with 256GB, with some reporting pointing to a third 12GB tier still to come.

Battery capacity lands at 8,000mAh, a figure Lenovo is leaning on heavily in its marketing given that cloud streaming depends on a stable Wi-Fi connection rather than local rendering. The controls borrow from Lenovo’s higher-end Legion hardware: TMR (tunneling magnetoresistance) thumbsticks designed to resist drift, Hall-effect triggers, an omnidirectional D-pad, two extra shoulder buttons, and two programmable rear paddles. Connectivity covers Wi-Fi 6E, Bluetooth 5.3, USB-C, and a 3.5mm headphone jack. The G700 runs Android rather than Windows or SteamOS, positioning it as an app-and-browser streaming terminal instead of a local gaming PC.

Lenovo has confirmed China as the first market for the G700, and as of publication there is no word on international pricing, a US release window, or whether the device will carry the Lenovo or Legion branding outside China. That silence matters. Lenovo’s last cloud-first device, the Legion Go S running SteamOS, did reach Western markets, so a China-only launch for the G700 is a deliberate choice rather than a supply constraint.

How the G700 Differs From the Legion C700

Lenovo teased the Legion C700 in July 2026 with almost no specs attached, just a Weibo post reading “See you in August” tied to Tencent’s START cloud gaming service. The full reveal came at an August 25 event, one day ahead of the G700’s announcement, with retail sales beginning September 8, according to a detailed spec breakdown from IntoMobile.

On paper, the two devices share nearly identical hardware: the same 7.82-inch FHD 120Hz display, the same Dimensity 7400 chipset, the same 8,000mAh battery, and the same TMR and Hall-effect control layout. The Legion C700 weighs approximately 556 grams and starts at the same CNY 2,199 price point for its 8GB/256GB configuration, and matches the same CNY 2,199 launch price, or roughly $327, according to Nokiamob’s launch report.

The real difference is branding and service integration, not silicon. The Legion C700 carries Lenovo’s gaming sub-brand and ties itself explicitly to Tencent START, complete with a claimed 10-millisecond latency figure delivered through a dedicated streaming dongle. It reads as a China-specific cloud terminal built for an audience that already uses Tencent’s ecosystem. The G700 drops the Legion name and the single-service framing, presenting itself as a general-purpose Android cloud handheld that can, in principle, reach Xbox Cloud Gaming, GeForce NOW, or other services through a browser or app, even though Lenovo hasn’t confirmed which services it will formally support at launch.

Why Two Devices, One Month Apart

Shipping two hardware-identical devices with different names inside the same 48-hour window looks redundant until you consider what each one is testing. The Legion C700 leans on brand loyalty and a single deep partnership with Tencent, a company that already dominates game distribution and cloud streaming in China. The G700 is the more exportable version: same components, broader software framing, no single-service lock-in. Lenovo appears to be running a controlled experiment on which pitch, brand-and-partnership or generic-and-flexible, resonates more with buyers before deciding how to position whichever version eventually leaves China.

ASUS and Boosteroid Bet on Cloud Streaming for ROG Ally

While Lenovo doubled up in China, ASUS reinforced its own cloud story for the ROG Ally line. Boosteroid, which ASUS describes as the largest independent cloud gaming service, now carries official support across the ROG Ally family, according to ASUS’s own ROG news post. The companies advertise streaming up to 4K resolution and 120 frames per second for supported titles and connections, accessible either through a native Boosteroid app or a browser-based client, without requiring the Ally’s local GPU to do any of the rendering work.

The partnership itself isn’t brand new. Boosteroid support was first flagged in December 2025 and echoed by ASUS in a January 21, 2026 post, but the late-August wave of handheld coverage pulled it back into the conversation because it lines up with the same argument Lenovo is making with the G700: buyers don’t need a $1,000-plus GPU-equipped handheld to get high-resolution, high-frame-rate gaming if the rendering happens somewhere else. For ASUS, the calculation is different than Lenovo’s. Rather than launching a new cloud-only SKU, ASUS is adding cloud capability as a software layer on top of hardware it already sells, giving the mid-range Ally a streaming pitch without cannibalizing its higher-margin, higher-power models.

ROG Xbox Ally X20 Ditches Its Forced AR Bundle

ASUS made a second, more consumer-facing correction in the same window. The ROG Xbox Ally X20, a 20th-anniversary Windows handheld co-branded with Microsoft, originally shipped only as part of a bundle with XREAL R1 AR glasses priced around $2,499. Critics flagged the bundle-only strategy as forcing buyers into an AR purchase they hadn’t asked for just to get the flagship handheld.

An ASUS spokesperson confirmed to The Verge in mid-August that the X20 would also ship as a standalone unit, a move Tech-Insider covered at the time as ASUS reversing course under pressure. Firm pricing has since landed: the standalone X20 costs $1,299.99, about $300 more than the existing ROG Xbox Ally X, while the AR bundle remains available at roughly $2,499, according to Windows Central’s pre-order coverage. Pre-orders opened August 25, 2026, through ASUS’s US store and retailers including Best Buy, with both versions shipping October 15, 2026. The X20 adds a larger OLED display, TMR joysticks, and a translucent gold chassis over the standard Ally X, positioning it as the premium ceiling of the Windows handheld category even as Lenovo and ASUS chase cloud buyers at the opposite end.

Xbox Game Pass Premium Adds a Handheld Platform Tag

Microsoft’s contribution to the August wave is a software change rather than hardware. Starting in early August 2026, new Xbox Game Pass additions carry explicit platform tags spelling out where each title is playable: Cloud, Xbox Series X|S, Handheld, and PC. Titles such as Heretic + Hexen and Halo: Campaign Evolved now list Handheld alongside the other three, while some additions, including PowerWash Simulator 2 and Cricket 26, do not carry the tag, signaling they aren’t optimized for handheld play yet.

The tag sits inside Game Pass Premium, the tier that bundles cloud streaming, PC access, console access, and now handheld-optimized titles. Handheld-tagged games stream through Xbox Cloud Gaming to Android-based devices such as the Retroid Pocket Nova and AYANEO KONKR Pocket Advance, reachable through a browser or the Xbox app given a stable connection. It’s a small labeling change, but it formalizes something Microsoft has been building toward for over a year: treating handheld as a first-class platform inside its ecosystem rather than an afterthought that happens to work through a browser.

Logitech Steps Back From the Cloud Handheld Race

Not every company is leaning in. Robin Piispanen, Logitech’s global head of gaming, told The Verge in late July 2026 that the company has no plans to build a follow-up to the 2022 G Cloud streaming handheld, saying there are bigger priorities for Logitech to focus on right now than a second-generation device. Multiple outlets picked up the same remarks in the weeks that followed, framing the original G Cloud as a device that underperformed relative to Logitech’s expectations.

Piispanen’s comments leave the door open rather than closing it outright. Logitech has not formally discontinued the G Cloud line, and no cancellation has been announced, but there is no active successor in development and no timeline for revisiting the category. That puts Logitech in an unusual spot: the company that arguably popularized the cloud-only handheld form factor is now the one company pulling back from it just as Lenovo, ASUS, and Microsoft accelerate. It’s a useful reminder that a cloud-only device lives or dies on the strength of the service behind it, and Logitech never had a Tencent START, a Boosteroid, or an Xbox Game Pass Premium tier tied to its hardware the way its 2026 rivals do.

The Cloud Gaming Market by the Numbers

Market sizing for cloud gaming varies wildly depending on how each research firm defines the category, and that spread is worth showing rather than picking a single number and treating it as gospel. Mordor Intelligence, using a narrower definition centered on pay-per-use and subscription streaming, puts the 2026 market at $6.23 billion, growing to $21.62 billion by 2031 at a 28.25% compound annual growth rate, according to Mordor Intelligence’s cloud gaming market report. Fortune Business Insights, using a broader definition that folds in more of the subscription ecosystem, puts 2026 at $23.79 billion, rising to $159.26 billion by 2034.

Research Firm 2026 Market Size Long-Term Forecast CAGR
Mordor Intelligence $6.23 billion $21.62B by 2031 28.25%
Fortune Business Insights $23.79 billion $159.26B by 2034 26.8%
Market Research Future $5.90 billion $50.35B by 2035 ~49.9%
The Business Research Company $28.29 billion Not specified Not specified
Precedence Research $4.81 billion Not specified Not specified

The gap between $4.81 billion and $28.29 billion for the same calendar year isn’t sloppy research, it’s a definitional problem. Firms that count only direct cloud-streaming revenue land in the single-digit billions. Firms that count the full value of bundled subscriptions like Xbox Game Pass Premium and Amazon Luna, where cloud access is one feature among several, land far higher. Omdia’s research suggests subscription access already makes up roughly 80% of consumer cloud gaming spend, with library-access services expected to represent about 91% of category revenue by 2026, which explains why bundling cloud into an existing subscription, the exact move Microsoft just made with the Handheld tag, inflates the broader-definition numbers so much.

Handheld Hardware Shipments Tell a Different Story

Hardware volume paints a more grounded picture than revenue forecasts. One gaming-handheld market report estimates global revenue at $12.4 billion in 2026, a slight dip from $12.9 billion in 2025, climbing to $16.6 billion by 2035 at a 3.3% CAGR, with unit volumes around 37.8 million handhelds in 2026. That figure spans the full handheld category, from dedicated consoles to PC-style devices to Android streaming terminals like the G700.

PC-style handhelds specifically, the Steam Deck and ROG Ally class of devices, remain a small slice of that total. Omdia-cited figures put global handheld PC unit sales at 1.7 million in 2024, rising to a projected 2.3 million in 2025, a 32% year-over-year jump, with sales expected to reach 4.7 million units annually by 2029. Against a roughly 38-million-unit total handheld market, PC-style and cloud-centric handhelds still represent a niche, but one growing faster than the category as a whole, which is exactly the segment Lenovo, ASUS, and Microsoft are now fighting over.

Device Specs at a Glance

Lining up the newest cloud-focused hardware side by side shows how differently each company is approaching the same problem: how much local power to include, and how much to hand off to a server somewhere else.

Device Display Chipset Battery Starting Price
Lenovo Cloud Gaming Handheld G700 7.82″ FHD LCD, 120Hz MediaTek Dimensity 7400 8,000mAh ~$330 (China only)
Lenovo Legion C700 7.82″ FHD LCD, 120Hz MediaTek Dimensity 7400 8,000mAh ~$327-330 (China only)
ROG Xbox Ally X20 (standalone) OLED, larger panel AMD Ryzen (Windows 11) Not disclosed $1,299.99
ROG Xbox Ally X20 (AR bundle) OLED + XREAL R1 glasses AMD Ryzen (Windows 11) Not disclosed ~$2,499

The contrast is stark. Lenovo’s pair of devices lean entirely on the network, packing a mid-tier chipset and a large battery because there’s no demanding local rendering to power. ASUS’s X20 goes the opposite direction, packing enough local hardware to run modern PC games natively while also carrying Boosteroid’s cloud layer as a bonus rather than a requirement. Neither approach is objectively correct yet. Cloud-only hardware is cheaper to build and buy but depends entirely on a buyer’s internet connection and the health of the service behind it, exactly the risk that sank enthusiasm for Logitech’s G Cloud.

Historical Context: Cloud Gaming’s Long Road to Relevance

Cloud gaming hardware has a rough track record. OnLive tried a cloud-only console strategy back in 2010 and folded within four years. Google Stadia launched in 2019 with custom controllers and a cloud-first pitch, then shut down entirely by early 2023, refunding hardware purchases along the way. Amazon Luna has stuck around but never built dedicated hardware at scale, leaning instead on existing screens. Logitech’s original G Cloud, released in 2022, is now the most recent cautionary tale, a purpose-built cloud handheld that, per Piispanen’s own account, did not perform as expected.

What’s different in 2026 is the backing. Lenovo’s devices ride on Tencent START, a service embedded in China’s dominant gaming ecosystem rather than a standalone startup. ASUS’s cloud layer rides on Boosteroid, an independent service that positions itself specifically around handheld optimization rather than trying to replace consoles outright. Microsoft’s Handheld tag rides on Xbox Game Pass Premium, a subscription with an existing, paying install base rather than a product launched cold. Every device or feature detailed in this piece is attached to a larger platform with its own gravity, which is precisely what OnLive, Stadia, and the original G Cloud lacked.

Competitive Landscape: Who Is Actually Positioned to Win

Four distinct strategies are running in parallel right now, and they’re not all chasing the same customer. Lenovo is chasing budget-conscious buyers in China who already use Tencent’s ecosystem, with the G700 as a hedge in case brand-and-service exclusivity doesn’t sell as well as a more generic pitch. ASUS is chasing existing Ally owners and enthusiasts willing to pay a premium, using Boosteroid to add streaming as a feature rather than the whole product, while the X20 chases collectors and Xbox loyalists willing to pay $1,299.99 for the anniversary hardware alone.

Microsoft is chasing scale through its existing Game Pass Premium subscriber base, using the Handheld tag as a low-cost way to make its service more attractive without building or selling a single new piece of hardware. Logitech, for now, isn’t chasing anyone in this category. Retroid, AYANEO, and other Android handheld makers sit adjacent to this fight too, since their devices are exactly where Xbox Cloud Gaming’s Handheld-tagged titles are meant to run, making them beneficiaries of Microsoft’s software change without having shipped anything new themselves.

Market Impact and What It Means for Buyers

For consumers, the near-term impact is a wider spread of price points and a blurrier line between what counts as a gaming handheld versus a streaming client. A $330 device and a $1,299.99 device can both display the same Halo Campaign Evolved session, one rendering it locally and one pulling it from a data center, and most buyers won’t know or care which is happening as long as the frame rate holds. That’s good for accessibility and bad for anyone trying to build a simple buying guide.

For the industry, the more interesting signal is how many companies are now willing to attach real engineering and marketing budget to cloud-first handheld hardware after a decade of failed attempts. Tencent, Microsoft, and Boosteroid all have deep enough pockets and large enough existing user bases to subsidize hardware experiments that would have sunk a standalone cloud gaming startup a few years ago. That changes the risk calculus for everyone watching from the sidelines, including Sony, which has quietly discontinued its own PlayStation Portal cloud catalog features in some markets, and Valve, whose Steam Machine and Steam Frame strategy is built almost entirely around local hardware rather than streaming.

What Happens Next: Five Predictions

Lenovo will pick a single global brand within six months. Running the Legion C700 and G700 side by side long-term makes little sense once Lenovo has enough sales data to know which pitch, brand-exclusivity or generic flexibility, performs better. Expect one line to fold into the other, or for the export version to adopt whichever name tested best domestically.

More Game Pass titles will pick up the Handheld tag through 2026. Microsoft has every incentive to grow that list quickly, since it costs nothing in hardware and makes Premium look more valuable against PlayStation Plus and Nintendo Switch Online.

Boosteroid-style cloud layers will become standard on mid-range Windows handhelds. Now that ASUS has proven the pitch works as an add-on rather than a replacement, expect Lenovo’s Legion Go line and MSI’s Claw series to announce similar cloud partnerships rather than build competing cloud-only hardware.

At least one 2026 cloud handheld launch will underperform and get quietly discounted. Given how many devices just entered the market within weeks of each other, oversupply relative to actual cloud-gaming demand, still a fraction of the size of the broader handheld market, is close to guaranteed.

Logitech will re-enter the category only if a platform partner subsidizes it. Piispanen’s comments suggest Logitech isn’t opposed to cloud handhelds forever, just to building one alone. A tie-up with Xbox, similar to what ASUS has with Boosteroid, is the most plausible path back in.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Lenovo Cloud Gaming Handheld G700?
It’s an Android-based handheld built around cloud game streaming rather than local rendering, featuring a 7.82-inch 120Hz display, a MediaTek Dimensity 7400 chipset, and an 8,000mAh battery. It launched in China on August 26, 2026, starting at roughly $330.

How is the G700 different from the Legion C700?
The hardware is nearly identical. The Legion C700 carries Lenovo’s Legion gaming brand and ties itself to Tencent’s START cloud service, while the G700 drops the Legion name and presents itself as a more general-purpose Android cloud handheld without a single locked-in service.

Will the Lenovo G700 or Legion C700 launch outside China?
Lenovo has not announced international pricing or availability for either device as of this article’s publication. Both are confirmed for China only at this stage.

What does the new Xbox Game Pass Premium Handheld tag mean?
It’s a platform label Microsoft started applying to Game Pass titles in August 2026, indicating a game is optimized for handheld play through Xbox Cloud Gaming on devices like the Retroid Pocket Nova or AYANEO KONKR Pocket Advance, accessible via browser or the Xbox app.

How much does the standalone ROG Xbox Ally X20 cost?
The standalone version costs $1,299.99, about $300 more than the standard ROG Xbox Ally X. A bundle with XREAL R1 AR glasses is also available for roughly $2,499. Pre-orders opened August 25, 2026, with shipping starting October 15, 2026.

Is Logitech making a new G Cloud handheld?
No. Logitech’s global head of gaming, Robin Piispanen, said in late July 2026 that the company has no active plans for a second-generation G Cloud and is prioritizing other projects, though he did not rule out revisiting the category later.

How big is the cloud gaming market in 2026?
Estimates vary by definition, ranging from about $4.81 billion to $28.29 billion depending on whether a research firm counts only direct streaming revenue or the full value of bundled subscriptions like Xbox Game Pass Premium. Mordor Intelligence’s narrower estimate of $6.23 billion is one of the more commonly cited figures.

What is Boosteroid and why does it matter for ROG Ally?
Boosteroid is an independent cloud gaming service that now officially supports the ROG Ally family, advertising streaming up to 4K resolution and 120 frames per second through its app or a browser, giving Ally owners a cloud option without needing the handheld’s own GPU to render games.

Related Coverage

Source: Tech Insider