Amazon put two new wearable AI devices on sale on October 15, 2026, and within hours the conversation had moved past specs and pricing to a thornier question: what happens to the person sitting across the table who never agreed to be recorded. The Bee Frontier and Bee Eclipse, unveiled in Amazon’s own announcement the same day, extend the company’s bet that people want an always-nearby microphone turning everyday chatter into notes, reminders and to-do lists. TechCrunch and PCMag both covered the launch as it happened, and both flagged the same unresolved issue Amazon has carried over from the original Bee: the device’s owner can control their own data, but the people around them have no say in whether they get recorded at all.
That gap between what Amazon promises its customers and what it can promise everyone else in the room is the real story behind today’s launch. The pricing, the colors and the subscription tiers are easy to tabulate. The consent question is not, and it is the one that privacy researchers, reviewers and Amazon’s own customers are already arguing about on the product’s review page.
What’s Inside the Bee Frontier and Bee Eclipse
Amazon’s announcement, confirmed by SiliconANGLE, splits the lineup into two very different form factors. The Bee Frontier is a wrist-worn or clip-on device built for people who want Bee’s listening feature on their body all day. The Bee Eclipse takes a different approach entirely: a credit-card-sized module that magnetically attaches to the back of a smartphone, turning the phone itself into the listening device. For readers who have followed the AI assistant race Amazon has been running for its Bee lineup against rivals, this is the first real hardware refresh since the acquisition closed.
Bee Frontier: built for all-day wear
Bee Frontier ships in three colors — Onyx, Lavender and Sage — and carries an IP67 water-resistance rating, up to seven days of battery life on a charge, USB-C charging, and dual microphones with noise filtering designed to isolate speech in crowded rooms. It is priced at $74.99 and is available for purchase now, according to the fact sheet Amazon published alongside the launch and reiterated by TechCrunch.
Bee Eclipse: a phone attachment with a much longer battery
Bee Eclipse comes in four finishes — Silver, Midnight, Honey and Blush — and is priced at $99.99. Its headline spec is battery life: more than 21 days per charge, according to both Amazon’s materials and PCMag’s reporting, which is roughly three times the Frontier’s rated endurance. Amazon said Eclipse would ship “soon,” and PCMag reported it was not yet listed for sale as of launch day, with availability expected in the coming weeks.
Pricing, Colors and the Bee Pro Subscription
Every Bee device, free of charge, provides conversation summaries, recaps and 14 days of rolling memory. Getting more out of the hardware requires Bee Pro, a $11.99-per-month subscription that unlocks unlimited conversation summaries, integrations with Amazon.com, Alexa+ and third-party apps, suggested to-dos, daily memory digests and a personal chat assistant. Tech Insider covered the Bee Pro pricing structure in detail when it first surfaced, and today’s launch confirms the same $11.99 tier applies across both new devices rather than introducing a separate premium rate for the costlier Eclipse.
The pricing also marks a retirement. PCMag’s reporting noted that the two new devices appear to replace Bee’s original model, the $49.99 Pioneer, which no longer shows up as available for purchase. That is a notable repositioning: Amazon is not simply adding a flagship on top of a budget device, it is pushing the entire lineup upmarket by at least $25, betting that better battery life, water resistance and phone integration justify the jump.
Bee Private Compute: How Amazon Says It Protects Conversations
Amazon’s core privacy pitch rests on an architecture it calls Bee Private Compute. The company says raw audio is processed in real time inside a secure, isolated environment and then deleted — it is never stored. What survives is a text transcript, and that transcript is encrypted with keys generated and held on the user’s own device. Amazon’s position, repeated across its press materials and quoted by PCMag, is direct: “Amazon has no master key that can unlock your content.” The company also says no one, including its own employees, can access an encrypted transcript unless the user deliberately shares it.
TechCrunch’s reporting adds a layer that Amazon’s own fact sheet does not spell out in full: Bee can optionally connect to Alexa and use Voice ID, the feature Echo devices already use to recognize individual speakers, so that Bee can tell who is talking during a recorded exchange. Amazon describes that Alexa link as optional, and says users can delete transcripts and summaries at any time. None of that changes who originates the recording decision — it remains entirely with the device owner, not with anyone else picked up by the microphone.
The Bystander Problem Nobody Asked For
This is the crux of the debate reigniting around today’s launch. Amazon’s encryption promises are aimed at the person who bought the device. They say nothing about the coworker in a meeting, the friend at dinner, or the stranger at a shared table who has no idea a wrist-worn microphone nearby is summarizing what they just said. Tech Insider’s earlier look at the Bee privacy debate flagged this exact asymmetry when the $100 price point first drew scrutiny, and nothing in today’s Frontier and Eclipse launch closes that gap. Privacy advocates have argued, as multiple outlets have now reported, that giving the purchaser total control over their own data does not give bystanders or other conversation participants any choice about whether they get recorded in the first place.
Amazon’s answer to that criticism is procedural rather than structural: a single button turns Bee on and off, and a visible LED lights up while the device is actively listening and summarizing. Users can also configure Bee to shut off automatically after a stretch of silence — Amazon’s own documentation cites five or fifteen minutes as example thresholds. None of those controls are visible to, or operable by, the people being recorded. The decision to notify a room, or not, still sits entirely with the wearer.
A Blinking Light Is Not Consent, Critics Say
PCMag’s review of the launch was blunt about the practical weakness of that indicator light: it is easy to miss, and even if someone notices it, they have no way of knowing what it means unless they already own a Bee themselves or have read about the product. A stranger glancing at a lit LED on someone’s wrist has no obvious way to connect that light to the fact a microphone is actively transcribing the conversation they are part of.
That disconnect is already showing up in public feedback. PCMag cited a review posted directly on Amazon’s own product page that stated plainly: “Recording people without permission is illegal.” Whether or not that claim holds up precisely as stated varies by jurisdiction and by whether a conversation is deemed to carry a reasonable expectation of privacy, but the sentiment reflects a real and growing unease that a hardware feature marketed as a lifestyle convenience is, functionally, a covert recording device with an opt-in interface built for exactly one person in the room.
Amazon Isn’t Alone: The Always-Listening Wearable Trend
Bee’s launch did not happen in isolation. PCMag’s coverage pointed out that Apple announced AI-powered “Audio Intelligence” features for the Apple Watch last month, using the same basic concept: a wrist-worn microphone that quietly listens to conversations and produces AI-generated summaries. Apple’s framing echoes Amazon’s almost exactly — only the device owner can view the recorded data, and the company says it holds no master key to unlock that content. The near-simultaneous arrival of two major tech companies pushing similar always-on listening features suggests the bystander-consent question is not a Bee-specific controversy. It is becoming a category-wide one, and the companies racing to ship these devices are relying on nearly identical privacy language to get ahead of it.
That pattern is consistent with how Amazon has approached always-listening hardware before. Echo speakers normalized a microphone sitting in the living room years ago, and Ring doorbells normalized a camera recording the sidewalk outside a stranger’s front door. Bee is the latest step in a lineage of consumer devices that ask forgiveness from bystanders rather than permission, wrapped each time in new encryption promises aimed at reassuring the buyer rather than the person standing nearby. 9to5Google’s coverage of the launch reached a similar conclusion, framing Bee as part of a broader push by device makers to normalize ambient listening under the banner of AI convenience.
How Bee Stacks Up Against Rival AI Notetakers
Bee is entering a market that already has paying customers for AI-powered conversation capture, and TechCrunch’s reporting put Amazon’s pricing directly against two of them: Plaud’s Note and Pocket devices. On price alone, Amazon is undercutting the field by a wide margin.
| Device | Price | Positioning |
|---|---|---|
| Bee Frontier | $74.99 | Wrist-worn or clip-on, 7-day battery, IP67 |
| Bee Eclipse | $99.99 | Magnetic phone attachment, 21+ day battery |
| Plaud Note | $159 | Standalone recorder-style AI notetaker |
| Plaud Note Pro | $189 | Higher-tier version of the Plaud Note |
| Pocket AI device | $129 | Pocket-carried AI conversation recorder |
At $74.99, Bee Frontier costs less than half of the Plaud Note Pro and roughly $55 less than Plaud’s base Note. That pricing gap, confirmed by TechCrunch, is central to Amazon’s strategy: rather than compete purely on AI quality or hardware polish, Amazon is using its retail scale to undercut rivals that have carved out the premium AI-notetaker niche over the past two years.
Bee Frontier vs. Bee Eclipse: Full Spec Comparison
Beyond price, the two new devices are aimed at different habits. Frontier suits someone who wants Bee on their body continuously; Eclipse suits someone who would rather not wear anything extra and is comfortable letting their phone double as the listening device.
| Spec | Bee Frontier | Bee Eclipse |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $74.99 | $99.99 |
| Form factor | Wrist-worn or clip-on | Magnetic smartphone attachment |
| Colors | Onyx, Lavender, Sage | Silver, Midnight, Honey, Blush |
| Battery life | Up to 7 days | More than 21 days |
| Water resistance | IP67 | Not specified |
| Charging | USB-C | Not specified |
| Microphones | Dual, with noise filtering | Not specified |
| Availability | Available now | Coming soon |
The asymmetry in listed specs is itself telling. Amazon detailed Frontier’s durability and battery figures in full but has so far only confirmed Eclipse’s battery runtime, consistent with a product that is still working through final certification ahead of its “soon” release window.
From Pioneer to Frontier: Amazon’s Bee Acquisition Pays Off
TechCrunch’s reporting places today’s launch in a specific corporate timeline: this is Bee’s first new hardware since Amazon acquired the startup roughly a year ago. The original Pioneer device, priced at $49.99, effectively served as a proof of concept that validated enough consumer interest in wearable AI notetaking for Amazon to invest in a full product refresh. Pioneer’s apparent discontinuation, noted by PCMag, suggests Amazon is treating Frontier and Eclipse as full replacements rather than additions to a three-tier lineup.
That acquisition-to-relaunch arc mirrors how Amazon has absorbed other smaller hardware and AI teams in recent years, folding acquired technology into the broader Alexa and Amazon.com ecosystem rather than letting it operate as a standalone brand. Bee’s new integrations with Alexa+, Amazon.com shopping, Gmail, Google Calendar, Microsoft Outlook and Apple HealthKit all point toward the same strategy: use the wearable to pull more of a customer’s daily activity into Amazon’s software stack.
Market Impact: What This Means for Amazon’s AI Assistant Push
Amazon has spent much of 2026 trying to establish Alexa+ as a credible AI assistant against Google, Meta and OpenAI-aligned competitors, and Bee gives that effort a second input channel beyond voice commands shouted at a speaker. By routing Bee’s conversation summaries into Alexa+, Amazon is positioning the wearable as ambient data collection that feeds its assistant without requiring a user to actively prompt it. That is a meaningfully different bet than the one Meta and OpenAI have made with chat-first assistants, and it puts Amazon in more direct competition with the broader field Tech Insider has tracked in its comparison of Meta AI, Grok and Character.AI user bases.
The financial stakes are straightforward even without disclosed unit sales: a $74.99 hardware price point paired with an $11.99 monthly subscription is a classic razor-and-blade model, and Amazon’s retail distribution gives it reach that smaller AI-wearable startups like Plaud and Pocket’s maker cannot match. If Bee’s hardware sells at volume, the recurring Bee Pro revenue compounds in a way a one-time device purchase never could, which is likely why Amazon priced the hardware aggressively below Plaud and Pocket rather than matching their margins.
The Legal Gray Zone: Recording Laws Weren’t Built for Wearables
Recording consent law in the United States varies by state, with some jurisdictions requiring all parties to agree to a recording and others requiring only one. Wearable AI devices complicate that framework in ways the law has not caught up with: a Bee Frontier worn into a one-party-consent state does not necessarily stay there, and a conversation partner has no reliable way to know which legal regime applies to them in the moment. Current reporting has not identified any specific lawsuit or regulatory action targeting Bee’s new devices, and no such action should be assumed from the privacy criticism alone. What is confirmed is that privacy advocates have raised the bystander-consent issue publicly, and that Amazon’s own product reviews already reflect customer unease about exactly this question. That unease sits alongside a separate, ongoing argument about how much trust to place in AI systems that listen or act on a user’s behalf, a theme Tech Insider examined in its report on an AI chatbot’s fake homicide tip that took weeks to surface.
That legal ambiguity is likely to matter more as adoption grows. A device that costs under $75 and claims a week of battery life is designed to be worn constantly, not occasionally, which multiplies the number of unconsenting bystanders who end up in a Bee transcript over the device’s lifetime compared with a one-off recording.
What Happens Next: Five Predictions
- Expect Amazon to add a louder or more visible listening indicator in a future firmware update, following the same pattern Apple and other always-listening hardware makers have used after initial consumer pushback.
- Expect at least one US state attorney general’s office or consumer-protection group to publicly question Bee’s recording-consent model within the next two to three months, given the pattern set by prior always-listening device controversies.
- Expect Plaud and Pocket’s maker to respond to Amazon’s undercutting with price adjustments or bundled software features rather than matching Amazon’s hardware price directly, since neither has Amazon’s retail distribution to absorb thinner margins.
- Expect Apple’s Audio Intelligence feature for Apple Watch to draw the same bystander-consent criticism Bee is facing now, once it ships more broadly, given how closely its privacy messaging mirrors Amazon’s.
- Expect Bee Eclipse’s actual ship date to land within weeks rather than months, based on Amazon’s “soon” language and the fact that Frontier is already shipping with full specs confirmed.
The Bottom Line
Amazon’s Bee Frontier and Bee Eclipse are priced to win on convenience and undercut an AI-notetaker market that has so far charged a premium for the same basic idea. The encryption architecture Amazon built around Bee Private Compute is a genuine answer to one half of the privacy question: it gives the device’s owner real control over their own recorded data. It does nothing for the other half. Anyone standing near a Bee Frontier or talking to someone holding a phone with an Eclipse attached is being recorded under terms they never agreed to and, in practice, may never even notice. That asymmetry, not the price tag or the battery life, is what will keep driving the privacy debate as these devices reach more wrists and more pockets in the weeks ahead.
Frequently Asked Questions
What are Bee Frontier and Bee Eclipse?
They are Amazon’s two new AI wearable devices, announced October 15, 2026. Bee Frontier is worn on the wrist or clipped to clothing; Bee Eclipse magnetically attaches to the back of a smartphone. Both listen to conversations and turn them into summaries, reminders and to-do lists.
How much do the new Bee devices cost?
Bee Frontier is $74.99 and is available now. Bee Eclipse is $99.99 and Amazon says it will be available soon.
Do I need Bee Pro to use either device?
No. Every Bee device includes free conversation summaries, recaps and 14 days of memory. Bee Pro, at $11.99 per month, adds unlimited summaries, Alexa+ and Amazon.com integration, suggested to-dos and a personal chat assistant.
How does Amazon protect the privacy of recorded conversations?
Amazon says Bee Private Compute processes raw audio in real time and then deletes it, keeping only an encrypted transcript secured with keys created and held on the user’s own device. Amazon says it has no master key to unlock that content.
Can Bee record people who haven’t agreed to it?
Functionally, yes. Bee’s privacy controls govern what the device owner can do with their own data, but bystanders and conversation partners who are recorded have no way to opt out, and Amazon’s single on/off button and listening indicator are controlled only by the wearer.
Is Bee Eclipse available to buy right now?
Not yet as of launch day. Amazon says it is coming soon, and reporting from PCMag indicates it had not yet appeared for sale at the time Bee Frontier went live.
How does Bee compare in price to other AI wearables?
Bee Frontier’s $74.99 price undercuts Plaud’s Note ($159) and Note Pro ($189), as well as Pocket’s AI device ($129), according to TechCrunch’s reporting on the launch.
What happened to the original Bee Pioneer device?
The $49.99 Pioneer, Bee’s first model, no longer appears to be available for purchase, according to PCMag, suggesting Frontier and Eclipse are replacing rather than supplementing it.