A cluster of leaks landed within days of each other in early September 2026, and together they gave the clearest look yet at the silicon Apple has not yet confirmed. Three separate outlets (wccftech.com, Notebookcheck, and shattered.io) published overlapping but not identical claims about the A20 Pro, the chip expected to power the iPhone 18 Pro line. The headline numbers: a 4.90GHz performance-core clock, a 7-core GPU, and a memory bus wide enough to beat every Apple silicon chip back through the M3. None of it comes from Apple. All of it comes from teardown photos, die shots, and firmware strings that leakers have been picking apart since late August.
What makes this leak cycle different from the usual pre-launch noise is the level of disagreement between sources that are normally in lockstep. Wccftech pegged memory bandwidth at a precise 115.2GB/s. Notebookcheck and shattered.io both framed the gain as roughly 50% higher than the prior generation without committing to wccftech’s exact figure, a number close to what an earlier round of A20 Pro reporting also suggested for the process shrink itself. A separate MacRumors analysis, working backward from Apple’s already-shipped M6 chip, arrived at a more conservative estimate near 85GB/s. That spread, more than 30GB/s between the high and low estimates, is the story: multiple credible outlets are triangulating the same chip and landing in different places, which says as much about the leak ecosystem in 2026 as it does about the A20 Pro itself.
What the leaks actually claim about the A20 Pro
Strip away the outlet-by-outlet variation and a consistent core spec sheet emerges. The A20 Pro is expected to keep a 6-core CPU arranged as 2 performance cores plus 4 efficiency cores, the same split Apple used on the A19 Pro in 2025. Wccftech’s report put the performance cores at up to 4.90GHz and the efficiency cores at 2.60GHz, with 16MB of shared cache for the performance cluster and 8MB for the efficiency cluster. The GPU side is where the generational jump is bigger: a 7-core GPU, up from six on the A19 Pro, with each core reportedly clocked around 1.60GHz.
The memory subsystem is the most contested part of the leak. Wccftech and Notebookcheck both describe a 96-bit memory bus, a jump from the 64-bit bus Apple has used on iPhone chips for more than a decade. Notebookcheck’s motherboard-leak report tied that wider bus to 12GB of RAM and a packaging method called WMCM (wafer-level multi-chip module), which places the memory dies beside the SoC rather than stacked on top of it, a departure from Apple’s usual package-on-package approach. Shattered.io’s comparison table lists the same 96-bit bus alongside a claimed 32-core Neural Engine, though that NPU figure has not been corroborated by either wccftech or Notebookcheck and should be treated as the least confirmed number in the entire leak set.
On process node, the outlets agree: the A20 Pro is expected to move from the 3-nanometer node used on the A19 Pro to TSMC’s 2-nanometer N2 process. Notebookcheck’s die-shot analysis estimated a die size around 98.6 square millimeters. Apple has not commented on any of these figures, and the company’s practice for more than a decade has been to say nothing about unreleased silicon until launch day.
The three outlets, and where they disagree
Leak journalism runs on a mix of factory-floor photos, customs filings, and firmware strings pulled from developer betas, and no two outlets always source the same document. That is visible in how differently wccftech, Notebookcheck, and shattered.io each framed the same chip this month.
Wccftech was the most specific, publishing exact clock speeds (4.90GHz and 2.60GHz), an exact bandwidth figure (115.2GB/s), and a specific transfer rate (9,600MT/s) tied to LPDDR5X memory. The outlet’s framing was that 115.2GB/s would exceed the bandwidth ceiling of the M1, M2, and M3 chips, a notable claim given those are laptop and tablet-class silicon, not phone chips. Notebookcheck took a more conservative tone, describing the bandwidth gain as “up to 50%” rather than committing to a single number, and focused more of its reporting on the WMCM packaging change and the 12GB memory configuration. Shattered.io’s comparison table repeated the 7-core GPU and 96-bit bus claims but added the unconfirmed 32-core NPU figure and a “40% faster graphics” performance claim that neither of the other two outlets carried.
MacRumors took a different approach entirely, working backward from Apple’s already-shipped M6 chip (launched for Mac hardware earlier in 2026) to estimate what a phone-class derivative might carry, landing on a bandwidth figure closer to 85GB/s, a full 30GB/s below wccftech’s number. That gap matters for anyone trying to gauge what “official” specs will look like when Apple actually announces the chip, likely alongside the iPhone 18 Pro line. Readers should treat the CPU core count (6, split 2+4) and GPU core count (7) as the most consistently corroborated figures across outlets, and treat the exact bandwidth number as the least settled.
A20 Pro vs A19 Pro: the generational gap
The comparison tables published by shattered.io and Notebookcheck both use the A19 Pro as the baseline, since it is the last chip Apple has actually confirmed and shipped. The table below consolidates the leaked figures against that known baseline.
| Spec | A19 Pro (2025, shipped) | A20 Pro (2026, leaked) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Process node | 3nm (N3) | 2nm (TSMC N2) | shattered.io, wccftech |
| CPU core layout | 6-core (2P+4E) | 6-core (2P+4E), unchanged | wccftech, Notebookcheck |
| Performance core clock | Not disclosed by Apple | Up to 4.90GHz (leaked) | wccftech |
| Efficiency core clock | Not disclosed by Apple | Up to 2.60GHz (leaked) | wccftech |
| GPU cores | 6-core | 7-core (leaked) | wccftech, Notebookcheck, shattered.io |
| GPU clock | Not disclosed by Apple | ~1.60GHz per core (leaked) | wccftech |
| Memory bus width | 64-bit | 96-bit (leaked) | wccftech, Notebookcheck, shattered.io |
| Memory bandwidth | Not disclosed by Apple | 115.2GB/s (wccftech) vs ~85GB/s (MacRumors estimate) | wccftech, MacRumors |
| Memory configuration | 8GB (typical prior-gen) | 12GB (leaked) | Notebookcheck |
| Packaging | Package-on-package | WMCM, memory beside SoC (leaked) | Notebookcheck |
How the leaked bandwidth stacks up against Apple’s own M-series chips
The single claim generating the most attention is wccftech’s assertion that A20 Pro bandwidth could exceed the M1, M2, and M3 chips — Apple’s own laptop and tablet silicon, not phone chips. That framing is worth unpacking, because Apple has historically kept a wide gap between iPhone and Mac memory subsystems specifically to manage cost, battery, and thermal envelope in a phone-sized enclosure. If the 115.2GB/s figure holds, it would represent one of the largest single-generation jumps in iPhone chip history, driven almost entirely by the wider 96-bit bus rather than a faster memory clock.
| Chip | Class | Memory bus | Approx. bandwidth |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apple M1 | Mac/iPad | 128-bit | Lower than leaked A20 Pro claim, per wccftech |
| Apple M2 | Mac/iPad | 128-bit | Lower than leaked A20 Pro claim, per wccftech |
| Apple M3 | Mac/iPad | 128-bit | Lower than leaked A20 Pro claim, per wccftech |
| Apple A19 Pro | iPhone | 64-bit | Baseline, not disclosed by Apple |
| Apple A20 Pro (leaked) | iPhone | 96-bit | 115.2GB/s (wccftech) or ~85GB/s (MacRumors estimate) |
Even at the more conservative 85GB/s estimate, a phone chip beating three generations of Mac-class silicon on raw memory bandwidth would be a notable milestone, and it lines up with a broader pattern: Apple has been steadily narrowing the architectural gap between its phone and laptop chips since the M-series debuted in 2020.
Why Apple would widen the memory bus now
None of the leaked reports specify Apple’s exact motivation, but the timing lines up with two publicly known pressures. First, Apple has spent much of 2026 building out on-device AI features under its Apple Intelligence branding, a push tied directly to the A20 Pro’s on-device AI performance, and larger, faster memory access directly benefits the kind of local model inference that runs image generation and language tasks on-device rather than in the cloud. Second, Apple has been diversifying its memory supply chain. The company locked in a multi-year NAND supply agreement earlier in 2026, and has separately faced reported DRAM shortages that pushed component costs higher across its lineup. A wider, more efficient memory bus reduces the amount of raw memory capacity needed to hit a given performance target, which can offset some of that cost pressure even as Apple adds RAM.
The WMCM packaging change Notebookcheck reported also fits a broader industry shift. Placing memory dies beside rather than stacked on top of the main SoC is a technique that trades a small amount of board space for better thermal characteristics, since heat from the two dies does not compound vertically. That trade-off is more attractive in a phone, where thermal headroom is the tightest constraint on sustained performance, than it would be in a laptop or desktop chip.
Competitive context: how A20 Pro’s leaked specs compare to rival flagship chips
The A20 Pro leak lands in a year when Apple’s mobile silicon lead has narrowed on paper, if not always in real-world benchmarks. Qualcomm has already confirmed its Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 lineup, including dual-chip variants running up to 5GHz, ahead of Apple’s own announcement. If the leaked 4.90GHz figure for the A20 Pro holds, Apple would still be clocking slightly below Qualcomm’s fastest configuration, though Apple’s chips have historically extracted more performance per clock cycle thanks to a wider core design, so raw clock speed comparisons alone tend to understate Apple’s actual single-thread performance.
On the GPU side, a jump to 7 cores is incremental rather than dramatic, but it continues a pattern of Apple prioritizing sustained thermal performance over peak core counts. Rival Android flagship chips from MediaTek and Qualcomm have generally used higher core counts on paper while Apple has leaned on architectural efficiency. The wider memory bus, if confirmed, would be one of the more significant competitive moves in this generation, since memory bandwidth directly affects how well a phone chip handles the growing demands of on-device generative AI workloads that both Apple and its Android rivals are racing to support locally rather than through cloud APIs.
Historical accuracy of Apple chip leaks
Apple’s silicon leaks have a mixed track record heading into this cycle. Core counts and process nodes leaked ahead of launch have generally proven accurate in recent years, largely because they can be sourced from TSMC supply chain filings and die shots that are hard to fake. Exact clock speeds and bandwidth figures have been less reliable, since those numbers often depend on final firmware tuning that Apple locks down closer to launch, and can vary between the exact chip Apple ships and pre-production samples that leak earlier in the cycle. That history is a useful lens for weighing the current leak set: the 6-core CPU layout and 7-core GPU count, corroborated across three separate outlets using different sourcing methods, sit in the “generally reliable” category. The exact 115.2GB/s bandwidth figure, sourced to a single outlet and already contradicted by a second outlet’s independent estimate, sits in the “treat with caution” category until Apple confirms it or a fourth independent source corroborates it.
What this means for iPhone 18 Pro buyers
For anyone planning to buy the iPhone 18 Pro when it ships, the practical takeaway from this leak cycle is narrower than the headline numbers suggest. The GPU core increase from 6 to 7, if accurate, should translate into a modest but real improvement in sustained graphics performance, particularly useful for gaming and on-device video work. The memory bus widening matters most for on-device AI features, where more bandwidth means the phone can run larger local models, or run existing models faster, without offloading as much processing to the cloud. Buyers upgrading primarily for camera or display changes should treat the chip leak as a secondary factor, since Apple’s silicon gains in recent generations have shown up more in efficiency and sustained performance than in headline peak-speed numbers that rarely matter in everyday use.
Market and supply chain implications
A move to TSMC’s 2-nanometer N2 process would make the A20 Pro among the first mass-market smartphone chips built on that node, part of a broader wave of AI chip development reshaping the mobile silicon market this year, ahead of most Android rivals. TSMC has been ramping N2 capacity through 2026 as part of its broader expansion, and Apple has historically been the anchor customer that absorbs a large share of a new node’s earliest, most expensive capacity, a position that tends to squeeze pricing and availability for other chipmakers competing for the same fab slots in the following two to three quarters. If the leaked specs hold and demand for A20 Pro-equipped iPhones is strong, expect continued reporting on N2 capacity constraints affecting other fabless chip designers through late 2026 and into 2027.
The reported shift to 12GB of RAM, up from typical prior-generation configurations, also has supply chain implications. Apple has faced reported memory cost pressure in 2026, and a jump in per-unit RAM capacity across its entire Pro iPhone lineup would meaningfully increase Apple’s exposure to DRAM pricing, particularly if memory prices remain elevated into the device’s on-sale window.
Predictions: what happens next
- Expect the CPU core layout (6-core, 2P+4E) and 7-core GPU figure to hold largely unchanged through to Apple’s official announcement, since they are corroborated by three independent outlets using different sourcing methods.
- Expect continued disagreement on the exact bandwidth figure until closer to launch, with the real number likely landing somewhere between MacRumors’ ~85GB/s estimate and wccftech’s 115.2GB/s claim.
- Expect Apple to lean heavily on on-device AI messaging when it eventually details the A20 Pro, using the wider memory bus as a selling point for faster local model inference rather than framing it as a gaming or benchmark upgrade.
- Expect rival chipmakers, particularly Qualcomm, to continue publishing clock-speed comparisons ahead of Apple’s own announcement, a pattern already visible with Qualcomm’s Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 6 disclosures this year.
- Expect at least one more significant A20 Pro leak, likely a benchmark score from a pre-production unit, before Apple’s official iPhone 18 Pro unveiling, based on the pace of leaks seen in prior iPhone chip cycles.
What remains unconfirmed
Several figures circulating around the A20 Pro leak deserve more skepticism than others. Shattered.io’s claimed 32-core Neural Engine has not been corroborated by wccftech or Notebookcheck, and NPU core counts in particular have historically been among the least reliable pre-launch leaks, since Apple rarely discloses that architecture until launch day. The exact memory transfer rate of 9,600MT/s cited by wccftech is also a single-source figure. Readers should treat anything not corroborated across at least two independently sourced reports as provisional until Apple’s own keynote confirms final specifications, whenever that announcement arrives.
Frequently asked questions
Has Apple confirmed any A20 Pro specifications?
No. Every figure in this article comes from third-party leaks, teardown reports, and die-shot analysis published by outlets including wccftech.com, Notebookcheck, and shattered.io. Apple has not commented on unreleased silicon, consistent with its longstanding practice.
What is the leaked A20 Pro CPU clock speed?
Wccftech reported performance cores running up to 4.90GHz and efficiency cores up to 2.60GHz, across a 6-core layout split 2 performance and 4 efficiency cores, unchanged from the A19 Pro’s core count.
How many GPU cores does the A20 Pro reportedly have?
Three separate outlets (wccftech, Notebookcheck, and shattered.io) independently reported a 7-core GPU, up from 6 cores on the A19 Pro.
Is the A20 Pro’s memory bandwidth really faster than the M3?
That is wccftech’s specific claim, citing a 115.2GB/s figure tied to a new 96-bit memory bus. A separate MacRumors estimate, working backward from Apple’s M6 chip, put A20 Pro bandwidth closer to 85GB/s, so the exact figure remains unsettled between outlets.
What manufacturing process will the A20 Pro use?
Multiple outlets, including wccftech and shattered.io, report the A20 Pro will move to TSMC’s 2-nanometer N2 process, up from the 3-nanometer node used on the A19 Pro.
Which phone will the A20 Pro ship in?
Reports tie the A20 Pro to the upcoming iPhone 18 Pro lineup. Notebookcheck’s die-shot report also referenced Apple’s first foldable iPhone as a potential device using related silicon, though that association is less firmly established than the iPhone 18 Pro connection.
How much RAM is the A20 Pro expected to carry?
Notebookcheck’s motherboard-leak report cited 12GB of RAM, paired with the new WMCM packaging method that places memory dies beside the SoC.
When will Apple officially confirm A20 Pro specifications?
Apple has not announced a date. Based on prior iPhone chip cycles, official confirmation typically arrives alongside the iPhone hardware unveiling itself rather than in a standalone chip announcement.